How well do you know Paris districts?

The city of Paris is divided into twenty districts when it comes to France it’s normally called arrondissements municipaux, administrative districts, more simply referred to as arrondissements. These are not to be confused with departmental arrondissements, which subdivide the 101 French départements. The word “arrondissement”, when applied to Paris, refers almost always to the municipal arrondissements listed below. The number of the arrondissement is indicated by the last two digits in most Parisian postal codes (75001 up to 75020).

The twenty arrondissements are divided in form of a spiral which runs clockwise, starting from the middle, first on the right bank (north bank) of the Seine. The French cities of Lyon and Marseille have subdivided into arrondissements.

In French, notably on street signs, the number is often given in Roman numerals. For example, the Eiffel Tower belongs to the VIIe arrondissement while Gare de l’Est is in the Xe arrondissement. In daily speech, people use only the ordinal number corresponding to the arrondissement, e.g. “Elle habite dans le sixième”, “She lives in the 6th (arrondissement)”

Arrondissment Name
1st Louvre
2nd Bourse
3rd Temple
4th Hôtel-de-Ville
5th Panthéon
6th Luxembourg
7th Palais-Bourbon
8th Élysée
9th Opéra
10th Entrepôt
11th Popincourt
12th Reuilly
13th Gobelins
14th Observatoire
15th Vaugirard
16th Passy
17th Batignolles-Monceau
18th Butte-Montmartre
19th Buttes-Chaumont
20th Ménilmontant

Image Gallery (2)